1979 (Standard Tuning) Backing Track

“1979” is a song by the American band The Smashing Pumpkins written by their leader, singer and guitarist Billy Corgan. It was included on the second disc (“Twilight To Starlight”) of the band’s third album (“Mellon Collie and The Infinite Sadness”), released in October 1995.

The song was released as a single in January 1996 and later, with a longer version, it was also included on “The Airoplane Files High”, a compilation of CD singles from the album “Mellon Collie And The Infinite Sadness”. It was also part of the band’s greatest hits album “Rotten Apples”, which was released in November 2001.

The video for the song was critically acclaimed and praised worldwide, winning the award for Best Alternative Video at the 1996 MTV Video Music Awards.

– Billy Corgan: Vocals and guitar.
– James Iha: Guitar.
– D´arcy Wretzky: Bass.
– Jimmy Chamberlin: Drums.


© CHURRUCAGUITAR. All photographs used on the ChurrucaGuitar website belongs to the photographer who has taken/created the photograph. Web photographs taken by Ernesto Solla. Churruca Guitar Logo & Store graphics by Alberto Abal.